Quote by gmason1 - General- Im not clear on the rules for false start but Seems to me that shouldnt have been your fault? if the start horn was blasted and you threw it shouldnt count against you or constitute a re-throw? i would be really upset if the horn blew, I threw and ace and then had to re-throw at my expense when it wasnt my bad? I even heard of one person complaining they had to take an extra stroke on throw 1 because of the early horn? if throws are early in a situation like this cant you just play the discs where they landed once the official horn is blown? Seems like the TD should be the ones ruling on this particular event and it seemed like it was being handled group by group rather than being addressed by the TD as a whole what the penalites would be..
Just so all concerned know, I did include the delayed start incident to the PDGA in the TD report.
Greg, I take full responsibility for the second round early start at the DRO. When I blew the horn to stop after the second round had started, I yelled STOP as loud as I could and heard people yell stop back to me.
Stopping play and marking one's lie was what was supposed to have happened.
General, your score the first time you threw the hole was the score you were supposed to use. This is one of those situations where if it was unclear how to proceed the provisional throw rule should have been used and at the end of the round you should have come to the TD for a ruling.
No one received any penalty strokes from the mistake that I made that I know of. After six years as a TD I am still learning about how to properly run a tournament and I will remember this incident every time I start a tournament round.